Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol is illegal, and the laws can differ from state to state. In Ohio, drivers can be charged with an OVI, (which stands for operating a vehicle under the influence, and is the same as a DUI) if they have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent. For drivers under the age of 21, the legal limit is .02 percent.
When someone is charged with DUI, it is necessary for them to hire a drunk driving defense lawyer. Being charged with DUI is a serious offence, and good DUI defense lawyers can help to limit the consequences. Hiring a good drunk driving defense attorney will protect a drivers rights, and take action to give his or her client the best possible outcome. Drivers who are convicted of a DUI in Ohio can have their licenses suspended for anywhere from six months to three years. The license reinstatement fee for the first DUI offense is 450 dollars.
Police officers can only pull someone over if there is probable cause. If a car is swerving, or a driver runs a red light or an officer sees some suspicious activity, a driver can be pulled over to the side of the road. An officer also has the authority to pull a driver over if witnesses have informed police that the person behind the wheel is too drunk to drive. More like this blog: Ovi attorney columbus ohio